C; Anthropomorphic Deities

The hieroglyphs of Ancient Egypt are often listed in groups of associated glyphs. The following hieroglyphs have been grouped according to the system established by Sir Alan Gardiner. The following hieroglyphs are all depictions of Anthropomorphic Deities (gods).

C1; god wearing a ureaus and a sundisk
Det and Log; Re
 C2; falcon headed god
Det and Log, Re (Ra)
C3; Thoth
Det and Log; Thoth
C4; Khnum
Det and Log; Khnum
C5; Khnum bearing an ankh
Det and Log; Khnum
C6; jackal headed god
Det and Log; Anubis, Wepwawet, Upuaut
C7; Seth
Det and Log; Seth
C8; Min
Det and Log; Min
C9; Hathor
Det and Log; Hathor
C10; Maat
Det and Log; Ma'at
C11; Heh
Det and Log; Heh Phon;HH (only in the word millions)
C12; Amun
Det and Log; Amun
C13; Montu
Det and Log; Montu
C14; Tatenen
Det and Log; Tatenen
C15; Ptah
Det and Log; Ptah
C16; Ptah
Det and Log; Ptah


Abb; the sign is an abbreviation of a word,
Det; the sign acts as a determinative (it has no phonetic value, but provids further information about the full word),
Log; the sign is a logogram (it represents an entire word or idea),
Phon; the sign has a phonetic value, and
Phon Det; the sign is a phonetic determinant (it acts as a determinative but also has a phonetic value).

A: Man and his occupations
B: Woman and her occupations
C: Anthropomorphic Deities
D: Parts of the body
E: Mammals
F: Parts of Mammals
G: Birds, 1
H: Parts of Birds
I: Amphibious Animals, Reptiles, etc.
K: Fishes and Parts of Fishes
L: Invertebrata and Lesser Animals
M: Trees and Plants
N: Sky, Earth, Water
O: Buildings and Parts of Buildings
P: Ships and Parts of Ships
Q: Domestic and Funerary Furniture
R: Temple Furniture and Sacret Emblems
S: Crowns, Dress, Staves, etc
T: Warfare, Hunting, Butchery
U: Agriculture, Crafts and Professions
V: Rope, Fibre, Baskets, Bags, etc.
W: Vessels of Stone and Earthenware
X: Loaves and Cakes
Y: Writing, Games, Music
Z: Strokes, Geometrical Figures, etc.
Aa: Unclassified

Return to Gardiner's sign list Pronunciation guide
copyright J Hill 2010
Return to Top

Ancient Egypt Online

Predynastic period Early Dynastic Old Kingdom First Intermediate Middle Kingdom Second Intermediate New Kingdom Third Intermediate Graeco-Roman period Late period