Meaning of yellow in ancient Egypt

khenet; yellow nebw; gold

In ancient Egypt yellow (khenet, kenit) represented that which was eternal and indestructible, and was closely associated with gold (nebu or nebw) and the sun. Gold was thought to be the substance which formed the skin of the gods and numerous statues of the gods were either made of gold or covered with gold leaf and the skin of the god was often painted gold in two dimensional images. The pharaoh's sarcophagus was made of gold as he was thought to become a god on his death and he was adorned with a variety of gold amulets and jewellery during mummification and the deceased often wore a golden mask. A golden "Shen" amulet was placed over the breast of the mummy to give the deceased the protection of Ra and ensure that he or she would live as long as the sun shone.

gold mask pf Psusennes I, Dynasty 21 copywright 2005 Daniel Speck gold and Lapis mask pf Tutankhamun, Dynasty 18 copywright Michael Reeve

In the undisturbed burial of Tutankhamun archaeologists discovered a beautifull solid gold and Lapis Lazuli funeral mask as well as a 300 pound solid gold coffin and an assortment of beautifull gold or gold plated funeral goods. The Twenty-first Dynasty pharaoh Psusennes I (Third Intermediate Period) was buried with a solid silver coffin and a beautiful solid gold mask (pictured above). Gold was often paired with blue in Egyptian royal jewellery. The popular Pharonic "Nemes" head scarf was composed of blue and gold stripes and numerous pieces of gold and lapis jewellery have been recovered from royal burials.

The anient Egyptians also made yellow pigments such as yellow ochre (an ore of iron) and massicot (an oxide of lead). By the New Kingdom they also used orpiment, a sulphide of arsenic. Yellow was sometimes interchangeable with white, which represented purity.

Tutankhamuns lapis and gold crook and flail

Buy beautiful 9ct gold jewellery from Kemet Design

copyright J Hill 2010
Return to Top

Ancient Egypt Online

Predynastic period Early Dynastic Old Kingdom First Intermediate Middle Kingdom Second Intermediate New Kingdom Third Intermediate Graeco-Roman period Late period