Graeco-Roman Period

The Graeco-Roman Period began with the conquest of Egypt by Alexander the Great in 332 B.C. When Alexander died Egypt was briefly ruled by his successors before passing into the control of one of his most prominent gerals, Ptolemy. His desendants formed the Ptolemaic dynasty who uled Egypt until the suicide of Cleopatra, at which time Egypt was annexed by Rome.

Macedonian rulers

  • Alexander the Great Meryamun Setepenre (Alexander III)
  • Philip Arridaeus (Meryamun Setepenre)
  • Alexander IV (Haaibre Setepenamun)

Ptolemaic Dynasty (O.C. 305 – 30 B.C)

  • Ptolemy I Soter (Meryamun Setepenre)
  • Ptolemy II Philadelphus (Userkaenre Meryamun)
  • Ptolemy III Euergetes (Iwaennetjerwysenwy Sekhemankhre Setepenamun)
  • Ptolemy IV Philopater (Iwaennetjerwymenkhwy Setepptah Userkare Sekhemankhamun)
  • Ptolemy V Epiphanes (Iwaennetjerwymerwyitu Setepptah Userkare Sekhemankhamun)
  • Ptolemy VI Philomentor (Iwaennetjerwyper Setepptahkhepri Irmaatenamunre)
  • Ptolemy VII Neos Philopater
  • Ptolemy VIII Euergetes
  • Ptolemy IX Soter
  • Ptolemy X Alexander
  • Ptolemy XI Alexander
  • Ptolemy XII Iwaenpanetjernehem Setepptah Irmaat)
  • Queen Bernice
  • Queen Cleopatra VII (Netjeret-merites)
  • Ptolemy XII Caesarion (Iwaenpanetjerentynehem Setepenptah Irmaatenre Sekhemankhamun)

copyright J Hill 2010